Reasons to be cheerful…

I’ve been away for a few weeks, both mentally and physically. Physically my family and I took a trip to New york. My wife is a native of Long Island NY so we went over with the kids to visit her mum and three sisters. Living so far away it’s difficult for our children to form a bond with the American side of our family. So it was lovely to see them scampering around the garden with their aunties and grandmother. I also took the opportunity to visit a few guitar stores to pick up some discount goods. My wife and I also took a few evenings off. We spent a night in Manhattan, saw a Yankees game and sipped drinks on the roof top bar of our hotel whilst gazing at the Empire state building.

Mentally, I took a break. I took my eye off the ball. I read, I drank, I ate and watched football, the nations biggest distractor. But I’m back.

Now I usually use this small platform of mine to highlight certain issues, express myself or simply bitch…usually about religion or governments.

I could talk about the absurdity of the Hobby Lobby story that has been a hot topic of late.
I could talk about people not knowing the difference between having your civil rights abused and not getting your own way all the time.
I could even talk about our government secretly pushing another bill through parliament to retain our private information. But I wont. Largely because I’m sure they are being covered by the excellently thorough (And thoroughly excellent) Adam Pain or Dale Cooper.

Today I want to share with a story that literally took my breath away.

There’s a small place in the USA called Tim’s place. IT’s a small restaurant in Albuquerque, New Mexico owned and run by Tim Harris and his family. Tim was born in 1986, he attended Eldorado High School and was voted home coming king by the highest margin in the schools history. He was also voted student of the year by the staff and faculty. After high school he attended Eastern New Mexico University where he earned certificates in Food Service and in Office Skills. He also worked at a variety of local restaurants including CiCi’s Pizza, Golden Corral, IHOP, and Peppers Bar and Grill. Tim enjoys a variety of sports, including basketball, volleyball, poly hockey, track and field, and golf. Tim is also an olympian and to my knowledge has won more medals than Michael Phelps.

Tim was born with Down’s Syndrome. 

As you can see he has in no way let his disability (maybe it should be renamed ability?) hinder him achieving his goal of being a restauranteur. He greets his customers with a hug and has dubbed his restaurant ‘The world’s friendliest restaurant’ and it’s open for breakfast, lunch and hugs. To date Tim has issued over 42,000 hugs since opening in 2010. Tim Says “I thought my restaurant would be very popular and that lots of people would come to see me. I was so excited when it came together. I got to watch the place unfold into my dream”

So many people today like to bitch and complain about where they’ve ended up in life. But it’s their choices that have led them to where they are now. If you have a dream then you owe it to yourself to follow it, whatever it may be. I know I’ve said it in previous posts but it’s worth saying again. You’re not going to get to the end of your life and someone will say

“Ok Mr Smith that was your practice run, are you ready for the real thing?”

So whatever it is that you want to do…do it. For FUCK sake DO IT!
There are ways and means of getting around any obstacle and what’s the worst that can happen? You fail and go back to the job you’re already doing?

That’s good advice that I could do with taking on board at this time in my life.

To find out more about Tim and his restaurant you can visit their website here

Or watch this Video

My wife and I have a daughter with Down’s syndrome. Our greatest hopes are that she’ll be independent,  self sufficient and above all happy. Seeing what Tim has achieved gives me an enormous amount of hope for her future.

I’ve always said that our greatest limitations are the ones we impose on ourselves.

Until next time…Love

4 thoughts on “Reasons to be cheerful…

  1. Reblogged this on Totally Inspired Mind… and commented:
    I normally do not reblog any material with explatives like fuc- in it, but in this case Tim Love’s story about a restaurant they visited runned by a wonderful man with Down’s syndrome who gives hugs and food, was too inspiring.

    Paulette L Motzko

  2. Well thank you for the plug Tim, and thanks for a great post too.
    Tim’s Place sounds like somewhere that everyone should visit, should they get the chance. More power to his hugs.

Leave a Reply

